Switching Between New and Old Notes Systems

If you have questions about using the new Notes system in Logos 8, please see this FAQ.

 

This option is only recommended for advanced Logos users.

 

The new Notes tool is a powerful addition to Logos, but since it is still under development, you may discover that your particular workflow doesn’t quite work as you’d like in the new system. Most of the functionality in the old notes system will gradually be incorporated into the new notes tool, but not everything is currently available.  

In the interim, if you need to use a feature not currently supported by the new notes system, you can switch back to the old system to, for example, search labels. Then, switch back to the new system before creating or modifying any notes. (This option will be available until the new notes system reaches parity with the old notes system.)

 

We strongly recommend that you switch back to the new notes system before creating any notes. Creating notes in the old notes system may cause sync and data errors when switching back to the new Notes tool.

 

Returning to the Old System  

To restore the old notes documents system to Logos:

 

  1. Begin typing “set prefer notes tool to no” in the command box.

 

 

  1. Click the relevant option, or finish typing the command.

 

  1. Close and restart Logos. This will make the old Notes document available in the Docs menu. 

 

 

Switching Back

To turn the new Notes tool back on:

 

  1. Begin typing “set prefer notes tool to yes” in the command box.

 

  1. Click the relevant option, or finish typing the command.

 

  1. Close and restart Logos. This removes notes documents from the available options and makes Logos use the new notes tool for all notes.

 

Was this article helpful?
10 out of 11 found this helpful
Have more questions? Ask the community.

Can't find what you need? Contact us!

help desk software