When you upload files to your Digital Asset Manager, they will inherit your default file permission settings. You can, however, override these defaults for each asset.
Note: Regardless of your permission settings for a file, you can create a share link or share a direct CDN link to an asset. Learn more about sharing files from your Digital Asset Manager.
Hover over any asset and click the View Asset Details icon to view the asset’s detail page.
Skip ahead to:
- Set a Published Status for the Asset
- Set Access Permissions for the Asset
- Restore Default Permission Settings
Set a Published Status for the Asset
An asset’s status indicates to other admins where that asset falls in a particular workflow, and, in the case of videos, also determines whether it is “live” and will display in Faithlife TV, on your Faithlife Site, or elsewhere.
- n/a: This video will not be displayed in Faithlife TV, on your Faithlife Site, or anywhere you’ve embedded it.
- Draft: This video will not be displayed on Faithlife TV, on your Faithlife Site, or anywhere you’ve embedded it.
- Published: This video will appear on Faithlife TV, on your Faithlife Site, and wherever you’ve embedded it.
- Retired: This video will not be displayed on Faithlife TV, on your Faithlife Site, or anywhere you’ve embedded it.
Set Access Permissions for the Asset
To allow others to view the asset in your Digital Asset Manager, set access permissions for the asset. These settings override your group defaults. You can set access permissions on any file so the file is available to others on two levels:
- Can View: who can view the file in your Digital Asset Manager
- Can Edit: who can edit the file in your Digital Asset Manager
Choose between one of the available options:
- Admins: complete control over all group settings and actions
- Mods: maintain and manage the group
- Members: regular members of the group
- Followers: those with a Faithlife account who can read group posts for followers or public without becoming members
- Public: anyone online with a link to your content
Warning! Setting Can View on any asset to “Public” means anyone on the internet can access the file in your Digital Asset Manager. Learn more about default settings permissions for your files or more about setting access permissions for a specific file.
Restore Default Permission Settings
When you change the permission of a file, you also unlink the file from the default permission for the group. To reinstate the default permission on your file, click Use Default.
Note: When you change an individual asset’s permissions, it unlinks the permissions from your default settings—even if you manually return it to the same setting. In other words if the default Can View setting for your group is set to Members changing the permission to Followers will unlink that file from your group-level setting. Even if you return the permission setting for the file back to Members, it does not re-create a link to the group default. To reconnect the file’s permissions to the group default, you must click Use Default. A parenthetical “Default” will return, indicating this file’s permissions are once again linked to the group’s default. If you change your default setting for files, this asset’s permission settings will now update to follow your default settings.